New Chair Elected to Board of Nanaimo Port Authority

New Chair Elected to Board of Nanaimo Port Authority
Jul 22, 2016
At a recent Nanaimo Port Authority Board meeting, Director Moira Jenkins was elected Chair of the Board effective September 1, 2016 for a two year term.  Director Michelle Corfield was elected Vice-Chair.

Moira Jenkins

Moira Jenkins

Moira Jenkins is the Federal appointee representing the International Trade User Group and has served as a Director for the Nanaimo Port Authority since October 30, 2014. She recently retired from the Royal Bank of Canada Financial Group after 44 years of service, 20 of those years in Nanaimo as the Vice President of Commercial Banking, Vancouver Island North. Moira is a Fellow of the Institute of Canadian Banking and holds her Financial Planning designation. Moira has many years of volunteering experience for various community organizations. She currently sits on the Nanaimo & District Museum Board and is the Treasurer of the Nanaimo Hospital Foundation.

Incoming Chair Jenkins expressed her appreciation to the Directors for her election. “I look forward to working with the NPA Board and staff, continuing the excellent progress we have made under the leadership of Chair Manhas, Vice-Chair Ringma and President & CEO Bernie Dumas. It is important to me that we build our future as the ‘Solutions Port’ focused on strategic collaboration with the community and our Port partners on a local, regional and national basis. Together with the Board and staff, I am committed to our vision to be the transportation and marine recreational gateway on Vancouver Island, serving the Pacific Rim…and beyond.”

Michelle Corfield (Director)Michelle Corfield is the Municipal Appointee appointed by the City of Nanaimo on July 1, 2015. She is currently on the Board of the College of Physicians and Surgeons of BC and the Underwater Harvesters Association. She holds a BA in First Nations, MA in Conflict Analysis and Management and a Doctorate of Management. She is a Board Governance expert with extensive knowledge in the areas of economic development, entrepreneurship, natural resources including marine resources, and BC First Nations.

The Board and staff of the NPA would like to thank Chair Jeet Manhas and Vice-Chair Richard Ringma, who served in these positions since June 2014, for leading the NPA Board over the last two years.

The Nanaimo Port Authority is one of 18 Port Authorities across Canada, established under the Canada Marine Act, to promote and support the National, Regional and local economy and to ensure a safe and secure harbour for cargo operations.


For more information contact:
Mr. Bernie Dumas, President & CEO
Nanaimo Port Authority